# KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 7 December 2017.

# PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman) Mr M J Angell (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, MBE, Mr M A C Balfour, Mr P V Barrington-King, Mrs C Bell. Mrs P M Beresford. Mrs R Binks, Mr R H Bird, Mr A Booth, Mr A H T Bowles. Mr D Butler, Miss S J Carey, Mr P B Carter, CBE, Mrs S Chandler, Mr N J D Chard, Mr I S Chittenden, Mrs P T Cole. Mr N J Collor, Mr A Cook, Mr G Cooke. Mr P C Cooper, Mrs M E Crabtree, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Miss E Dawson, Mrs T Dean, MBE. Mr T Dhesi, Mr D Farrell, Mrs L Game. Mrs S Gent. Mr G K Gibbens, Ms S Hamilton, Mr P M Harman, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mr A R Hills, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr S Holden, Mr P J Homewood, Mr A J Hook, Mr M J Horwood, Mr E E C Hotson. Mr J A Kite, MBE, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr P W A Lake, Mr B H Lewis. lda Linfield. Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr R C Love. Mr G Lymer, Mr R A Marsh, Ms D Marsh, Mr J P McInroy, Mr P J Messenger, Mr D Murphy, Mr M J Northey, Mr P J Oakford, Mr J M Ozog, Mr R A Pascoe, Mr M D Payne, Mrs S Prendergast, Mr K Pugh, Miss C Rankin, Mr H Rayner, Mr A M Ridgers, Mrs P A V Stockell. Dr L Sullivan, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr J D Simmonds, MBE, Mr I Thomas, Mr M E Whybrow and Mr J Wright

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr B Watts (General Counsel)

#### **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

## 48. Apologies for Absence

The General Counsel reported apologies from Mr Bartlett, Ms Constantine, Mr Gough, Mr Manion, Mr Monk, Mr Simkins and Mr Whiting.

49. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda

None.

## 50. Appointment of Honorary Alderman

- (1) The Chairman offered a very warm welcome to the meeting to Mr Tom Gates, Mr Mike Harrison, Mr Leyland Ridings, MBE JP, Mr James Scholes, Mr Derek Smyth, Mr Martin Vye and their guests.
- (2) The Chairman noted that Mr Alex King, MBE had been nominated but was unable to attend; a formal presentation would take place at a future meeting of the County Council.

#### 7 DECEMBER 2017

- (3) The Chairman stated that Mr Gates, Mr Harrison, Mr King, MBE, Mr Ridings, MBE JP, Mr James, Mr Smyth, Mr Vye had been regarded by Group Leaders as having given eminent service both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.
- (4) RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that Mr Gates, Mr Harrison, Mr King, MBE, Mr Ridings, MBE JP, Mr James, Mr Smyth, Mr Vye, distinguished former Members of Kent County Council, be awarded the status of Honorary Aldermen.
- (5) The Chairman then presented Mr Gates, Mr Harrison, Mr Ridings, MBE JP, Mr James, Mr Smyth, Mr Vye, with their Honorary Aldermen badge and scroll.
- (6) Mr Gates responded, on behalf of the newly appointed Honorary Aldermen, in suitable terms and expressed their thanks for the honour bestowed upon them by the County Council.